PWA Logo

red bulletMembership
red bulletNEWS
red bulletCurrent Executive
red bulletPast Officers
red bulletThe Shamus Awards
red bulletPast SHAMUS Winners
red bulletTHE PWA BEST First
Black indentP.I.Novel CoNTEST

red bulletPast CONTEST Winners

red bulletThe Eye
Black indent(Lifetime Achievement)
red bullet
the Hammer
red bulletContact Us



The Shamus Awards
The Private Eye Writers of America

The Shamus Award was first presented in 1982 for work published in 1981. Bill Pronzini was the first winner in the Best Novel Category. In 1982 the awards were given for Best Novel and Best Paperback Novel. The Short Story award was added in 1983. In 1985 the Best First Novel category was added.  

for Works First Published in the U.S. in 2022

The finalists for the 2023 Shamus Awards are will be made available here shortly. Questions regarding eligibility should be addressed to our Shamus Awards Committee Chair John Shepphird at johnshepphird (at) yahoo dot com.